Skip to content

Buttercup Bake Shop

March 11, 2011

005

Hi all! I really do wish I could update this blog more often, but too many cupcakes = a tight waistband. On Monday I decided I was going to try and eat healthier and by Wednesday I was dining on these beauts:

008

Reasoning that I needed to do a new blog post, I went to Buttercup Bake Shop and got some cupcakes to share with friends! At $2.25 a pop, we got three different kinds!

From left to right: the Hummingbird ( bananas, pineapple, pecans, and cream cheese frosting), Buttercup Golden (the original–yellow cupcake with vanilla buttercream frosting), and Red Velvet (yellow cupcake with a hint of cocoa, dyed a deep beautiful red, frosted with cream cheese frosting).

013

Guess what? Boys love cupcakes too!

015

That would be Brian and Joe. Cupcake tasting buddies, blog enthusiasts, and generally pretty cool guys. We split each cupcake three ways and tasted together. First up was the Buttercup Golden. I think we all enjoyed it, but agreed that there really wasn’t much special about it. I mean, basically anyone can make yellow cake with vanilla frosting from a Pillsbury box….right? Next was the Red Velvet. I personally wasn’t a huge fan (I mean, after 2LRH, nothing really compares), but B said this was his fave. I thought the cake was too crumbly and did not have much substance to stand up to rich and yummy cream cheese frosting! It turns out that we saved the best for last, though:

011

 
The Hummingbird wins! We all agreed that the cake was like really moist, really delicious banana bread. I don’t think anybody really noticed the pineapple (? seriously I don’t recall this), but the banana and walnuts were oh-so-good. Topped with sweet cream cheese frosting, this cupcake seriously rocked. I’d say if you go to Buttercup, where most dessert items are pretty standard, go for one of the more out-of-the-ordinary flavors like this one! (P.S. Buttercup also has an Upper West Side location, with different specialty flavors like PB&J!!!)

Something else I really liked about the cupcakes here? They are actually appropriately sized! Like, as if I made them at home. Not the mega-monster cakes you can get from Crumbs. Old-fashioned, traditional cupcakes. In general, Buttercup is a pretty standard American bakery with classic desserts. Nothing too crazy here.

I don’t know if I should be saying this, but those of you who have tried Magnolia Bakery…these two places are REALLY similar and reminded me a lot of each other. Right down to the pastel-colored frostings and not-so-common banana pudding as a menu item. From my experience, I honestly think Magnolia is WAY overhyped. Magnolia offers decent cupcakes, but they aren’t quite as OMG! as people make them out to be (and seriously, Carrie Bradshaw may be fabulous, but she doesn’t quite strike me as a cupcake connoisseur). Buttercup Bake Shop is essentially the same (and actually was started by one of the original owners of Magnolia…). Both make for great places for a quick treat, but I wouldn’t say they are worth a trek across town. If you are in the neighborhood though, in search of a classic bakery that won’t break the bank (or belt buckle!) then I would definitely advise you to head to Buttercup!

 

Buttercup Bake Shop

973 2nd Ave. (btwn. 51st & 52nd)

New York, NY 10022

(212) 350-4144

http://buttercupbakeshop.com/

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 9:52 PM

    CUPCAKES! I love cupcakes! I usually only buy one at a time because otherwise I cannot control myself!

    • March 20, 2011 10:01 PM

      Um, DITTO girl! I have absolutely no self-control around them! That’s why I try to bribe my friends with blog pictures to get them to eat with me! It usually doesn’t take much convincing :)

  2. nora permalink
    April 19, 2011 4:25 PM

    Love the site, Val! Where is the review of Crumbs? I went to their Hoboken outlet (wasn’t waiting for 3 hours at Carlos’ Bakery) and I loooved the Irish Cream and Cosmo cupcakes!

    • April 19, 2011 9:28 PM

      Haha thanks Nora! Don’t worry, a very special Crumbs post will be up before I leave NY!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

