Skip to content

Cowgirl’s Baking

March 15, 2011

So, the non-cupcake loving, but still blog-supportive boyfriend came for a visit down from Boston this weekend. Fun ensued. Central Park, Broadway show, cupcakes, the usual!

We had plans on Sunday to head down to the East Village for lunch, and figured we’d check out a cupcake place in the neighborhood. DUH! Through Yelp, we found Cowgirl’s Baking.

009

Unbeknownst to us, this place was brand-spankin’ new and had just opened earlier last week! I seriously knew nothing about the bakery before (aside from the most important menu item!), and I kind of liked going in without any prejudgements from things I might have heard or read. Cowgirl’s is a vegan bakery with other fun, non-bakery items like burritos and sandwiches. In addition to cupcakes though, they had lots of other baked goods that I honestly wish I could have tried, like a PB&J bar and vegan doughnuts! Also, the interior is so fresh, clean, and white! It felt like springtime in there!

010

After discussions of all things good like cupcakes and blogs with the guy working (whose name I TOTALLY wish I had asked, he was so nice!) and happy customer Olivia (hey girl!), we got to picking.

011

Like many other small shops, Cowgirl’s has a large cupcake menu that rotates daily. (According to their website though, daily flavors are updated via twitter, so definitely check that out.) They had the basic vanilla and chocolate, but I picked out my favorite flavor combo ever of chocolate and peanut butter!

015

The boyfriend picked one out that I think was called something like Chocolate Doughnut (?). I actually don’t remember at all though, and I can’t seem to find a fitting description of it on their website, so maybe it was just a specialty cupcake of the day? Anywho, it was a chocolate cake base with creamy chocolate frosting and some chopped walnuts on top.

014

We tried his first (by the way, I could NOT tell it was vegan) and we both really liked it! The chocolate cake was very rich, more so dark chocolatey than milk, and it had actual chocolate chips mixed into the batter. So fun! The frosting was awesome and super creamy. In fact, I just can’t believe there is no milk or butter in it. I need vegan recipes!

013

A few hours later I dug into the chocolate peanut butter cupcake with my roommate and was blown away! I expected something pretty similar to the first cake, but this one seemed denser and more moist. I think I remember being told that they bake the cupcakes through the day, so maybe the first flavor we tried had been sitting out a bit longer, because the second one seemed to be a teeny bit fresher. They were awesomely delicious though and I really should stop nitpicking! Both cupcakes were really crumbly, but in a good way.

016

Overall, I would say I’d definitely love to go back to Cowgirl’s Baking sometime before I leave New York. They were so friendly and seemed to have lots of unique flavors and treats to try. Cupcakes were $3 each and I imagine other bakery items would be fairly priced as well. The shop is TINY and the seating situation is two stools and a window seat, but I’d say grab your cupcakes to go and head on up the street to Tompkins Square Park for a day in the springtime sun!

Cowgirl’s Baking

259 E. 10th St. (btwn. 1st  & Ave. A)

New York, NY 10009

(646) 449-0469

www.cowgirlsbaking.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 10:00 PM

    Yum! Those cupcakes look delicious. I’d definitely got for Choc/PB too. :)

  2. March 20, 2011 11:37 AM

    Oh these look so good! What a cute bakery :)

  3. Carrie permalink
    April 19, 2011 9:16 AM

    Looks yummy! Great photos and your writing is so funny :)

Trackbacks

  1. 2nd Annual Taste of 7th Street | Socially Superlative : Socially Superlative
  2. Event – 2nd Annual Taste of 7th Street APR20-22 « i8 NYC

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

