Skip to content

Two Little Red Hens: an American bakery

January 12, 2011

The day after the storm! Well, I’ll use that term loosely. What happened to those 12-16 inches Manhattan was expecting? Because when I woke up and looked out the window this morning, it was bright and sunny, and the roads were clear. Hmph!

Either way, my roommate and I both had the day off and decided to take advantage of our free time by going on our first OFFICIAL Cupcakes & the City adventure! Our destination today was Two Little Red Hens on the Upper East Side.

001

I read about this place online before investigating it myself. The bakery offers cakes, cookies, and other sweet, delicious-looking things…..

005

but I was obviously there for the cupcakes!

003

(But if you want a gorgeous floral cake, TLRH seems to be the place. Check these out!)

004

Talk about food art!

Reviews I read before going guided me to their Red Velvet  and their unique “Brooklyn Blackout” cupcakes.

011

Though I know this is only my first blog post, I’ll say it. This is the BEST RED VELVET CUPCAKE I HAVE EVER HAD. Yep, yep. Delicious moist cake, with just a hint of cocoa-y flavor. Incredibly rich cream cheese frosting that wasn’t overly sweet, but instead was tart and creamy. Like, best EVER you guys. And I’m not even a huge red velvet fan, but WOWZA. This place is changing my mind about favorite flavors. With one cupcake! Okay, I think I got my point across.008

The Brooklyn Blackout cupcake is a chocolate cake, with fudge frosting, and a chocolate pudding filling. The cake and frosting rocked, because I’m a chocolate-loving kind of girl. Then again, it’s pretty hard to mess up chocolate. Not going to lie though, the pudding kind of grossed me out. Am I just a total weirdo, or does pudding have no place in a cupcake?! Eh, it was just a texture thing and I’ve got issues.

The red velvet cupcake will run you $2.75, which I think is a pretty fair price in the world of New York cupcakes! The red velvet also came in a mini size, which was cute, but not nearly as mouth watering as the mama cake. The Brooklyn Blackout was the same size as my red velvet but cost $4.00! Uh, okay, see ya later paycheck! Not really sure what’s up with the price differential between flavors. I will say though, that the cupcakes are TLRH are bigger than most (a smidgen smaller than a Crumbs cupcake), so if you’re a mindful eater you’ll share them with friends, possibly over a few sittings. If that’s something you like to do….

Most other cupcake flavors at TLRH seemed pretty generic, but clearly the quality is good, so if I ever go back, I might try one. Or I might just get red velvet again. Then again, this is New York City and there are 39567239234762.5 eating establishments, so shame on me if I ever go back to the same place!

Oh also, my roommate got a cookie and said it was pretty dry, and insists that we (the non-bakers) make better ones out of Nestle Tollhouse premixed dough, so go figure.

Two Little Red Hens

1652 2nd Ave.

New York, NY 10028

(212) 452-0476

info@TwoLittleRedHens.com

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    February 8, 2011 9:15 PM

    Sounds delicious! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Buttercup Bake Shop « Cupcakes & the City
  2. CONFIRMED!!! « Cupcakes & the City

Leave a Reply

