Skip to content

Cupcake Café

February 3, 2011

So, I’m really excited to blog keep blogging about cupcakes, and ideally would like to average more than one post a month, but I’m also really lazy. Believe me, it’s not that I’m not eating cupcakes, it’s just that I haven’t bothered blogging about them. Super lame, I know, but that’s how I do it (or don’t do it).

So a few days ago 4:00 rolled around and I decided I didn’t want to go to the gym after work. SHOCKER! Instead I decided to take a “business trip” on my walk home to do some blog “research.” I started searching “clients” on yelp immediately. (I also had to skip the gym tonight because I needed to set a “meeting” to write this post. Take that, gym!)

I ended up right outside of Port Authority at the Cupcake Café. I was surprised to walk in and see that this place was way more café than cupcake. I was thoroughly impressed by the cake pictures on their website (they did one for Ne-Yo, who is a famous person, as I was recently informed) and expected a cute and dainty little bakery. 003

The café was actually super eclectic, filled with lots of random artsy, thrifty, old-fashioned kinds of things. Actually I totally don’t know how to describe it, but it definitely had a cool-kids vibe and when I started snappin’ pix the owner was like, “uh, is this your first time here?” Also it was really dark in there so my flash probably scared and woke all of the laid-back coffeehouse guys and gals.002

The owner (who wasn’t much fun) told me they opened up shop in 1988 (!), but then “real estate happened” and they had to change locations by one block. Does one block really make a difference in Midtown Manhattan? By the way, they have another store on 18th Street, but I don’t see myself venturing down there anytime soon.007

The cupcakes themselves were also kind of……interesting. I stuck with basic chocolate & vanilla because they only had like, two other flavors and they sucked. The cake part was sort of dry, but not in a stale way. It was almost like the consistency of a corn muffin. Actually, spot on with the consistency. And the frosting wasn’t very sweet. It kind of tasted like straight butter. I actually scraped some of it off because it tasted funky, then I realized that the cake alone was too dry to handle, so I gave up. Yes, I GAVE UP ON CUPCAKES. (Only a few bites!)005

I will say though, that the designs are pretty! All they had when I went in was flowers, and that kind of seems to be their main thing. These got a little smudgy on my walk home in the FREEZING RAIN, but I think they still make for some good eye candy. You know, if you’re one of those weirdos who only likes to look at cupcakes. There were two different sizes too, and I went with the smaller ones which ran me $2.50 each. P.S. It’s cash only!006

So overall, I wasn’t too impressed by Cupcake Café. Not a very friendly shop and not very yummy cakes. I mean it’s all personal preference, but this is my blog and I didn’t like it so I’m gonna say it! But if you’re a fan then just cross your arms, pout, stomp off, and go to Cupcake Café to scarf down a dry one. I mean, if it’s been around for over 20 years, SOMEONE must like it. (But please come back and keep reading!)

Cupcake Café

545 9th Ave.

New York, NY 10018

(212) 465-1530

One Comment leave one →
  1. Vivian permalink
    February 4, 2011 10:30 AM

    so pretty and they look delicious to me! probably because i’m going through a withdrawal mode. the bakery looks like it would be flooded with hipsters

Leave a Reply

